July 12, 2010

This material was filed under
[ Town Centre Committee - Meeting Minutes ]
July 12, 2010

Brevard County, Florida 32903
July 12, 2010 6:00 p.m.

Members Present
Helen Yarbrough, Co-Chair
Jenifer Marx
Rhoda Waxman

Nancee Hay
Jill Hoffman
Garrett Oates
Lois Schiessl

Members Absent
Djon Pepaj
Mike McCabe, Co-Chair

Louis Postma
Jeff Harrington

I. Call to order at 6:00 p.m.
Co-Chairperson Yarbrough called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

II. Approval of Minutes
Minutes 10-18, June 21, 2010
Ms. Hay moved to approve the minutes as presented. Ms. Schiessl seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

III. Identified Tasks
2.1 Ordinance changes for signage (Rhoda and Garat)
2.2 Recommend Zoning changes (Roger)
2.3 Lower speed limit on Fifth Avenue (Mike)
2.4 Develop Action Plan for providing Parking on 4th, 5th, & 6th Ave (Lois, Jill, Djon)
2.5 Landscape Improvements (address inconsistencies in maintenance of median (Jenifer and Garat)
2.6 Palm Ave – Crossing critical for lower speed or stop light (Mike)
2.7 Bike Lane (Mike)
2.8 News Articles (Nancee)
The above tasks have been reassigned to reflect new members of the committee.

IV. Report from Chairperson Yarbrough
No report from Co-Chairperson Yarbrough.

V. Miscellaneous Items
Mr. Oates presented Jeff Harrington as a guest speaker to talk about parking meters.

Mr. Harrington discussed parking meter pay stations and the possible increase in revenue it could bring to the town.

Mr. Harrington provided the Committee members with a presentation packet for Parker Systems.
Mr. Harrington noted other cities that have the systems were Boca Raton and Pompano Beach.

Mr. Harrington noted the cost per unit was $12,000.00 with an extra $1,000.00 for the solar panel. The warranty would cover parts and labor for one year and an extended warranty would be available on a yearly basis. There would also be no charge for software updates.

Mr. Harrington noted there were different options on the machines for payment such as, pay by phone, pay by tag, pay by space or pay and display.

VI. Items for next meeting – Monday, August 2, 2010 at 6:00 p.m.

VII. Adjournment
The meeting was adjourned at 7:33 p.m.

______________________________ ______________________________
Helen Yarbrough, Chairperson Jennifer Fortin, Secretary