January 25, 2010

This material was filed under
[ Parks, Recreation and Beautification Committee - Meeting Minutes ]
January 25, 2010

Brevard County, Florida 32903
January 25, 2010, Council Chambers 9:00 a.m.

Members Present
Catherine Berkman, Chairperson
Brooke Deratany Goldfarb
Bernie Gott
Larry Michelson
JoAnne Nadeau
Ron Cassedy, Director of Public Works
Victoria M. Twitty-Mercer, Secretary

Members Absent
Andrea McKoy-Zeppuhar
Marjorie Schwanbeck, Vice Chairperson (excused)

I. Call to Order
Chairperson Ms. Berkman called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.

II. Approval of prior Meeting Minutes
Minutes 10-02; November 23, 2009
Ms. Nadeau moved to approve the minutes. Mr. Michelson seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

III. Town Hall Report –Mr. Cassedy
Riverside Park
In the park the large swing was re-stained and painted. The timer for the lights on the dock is now properly working. Damage to signs and benches due to vandalism and items removed from their location have been replaced.

Sunrise Park
Public Works personnel replaced shingles on the roof that covers the picnic table at the Watson Drive dune crossover.

Orlando Park
A Gumbo Limbo tree was donated to the Town and was planted in the North West Corner in the park.

Beach Re-nourishment Project
The Army Corps of Engineers issued the bid for beach re-nourishment to Great Lakes Dredge & Dock. The project was expected to start December 17, 2009. The effort is expected to widen the beach consistent with the width enjoyed after the first beach re-nourishment effort in 2003. Prior to the 2003 effort the Town had to close dune crossovers due to sand being washed away from the bottom of the beach side of the crossover steps. Staging areas could be the dune cut in the vicinity of Watson Drive east of SRA1A and state land east of SRA1A across from Ocean Terrace. In Indialantic pipe was placed on the beach at approximately Sixth Avenue (i.e. across from dune crossover number ten) for the dredge to send sand onto the beach with sand being pumped north to Flug Avenue for two weeks and then south from this location for two weeks. Sections of pipe will be relocated to Melbourne Beach to pipe sand both north toward Indialantic and south to Spessard Hollard Park (north). The dredge is due to arrive February 08, 2010.

SRA1A Outfall @ Watson Drive
The County is attempting to decrease the amount of SRA1A street right-of-way water that runs onto the beach. They plan to place permeable pipes through the middle of Sunrise Park and then reconnect to the existing pipe that runs along Watson Drive from SRA1A to the beach. The improvement is needed to ensure that the Town will be eligible to receive beach sand in the future. Concerns, especially regarding access to and from the Indialantic One condominiums, have been conveyed to the County. The proposed plan will be presented to Council for consideration.

IV. Beautification
Status of Beautification Award sign
Doris Y. Lodge & Joseph Vegotsky, 310 South Shannon Avenue will be the new location for the sign. Ms. Twitty-Mercer will notify the owners for 310 South Shannon Avenue via mail. Mr. Michelson will remove the sign from 808 North Riverside Drive and deliver the sign to the new location.

V. Parks
Catherine Berkman- Indian River Park, Tradewinds Park & Nance Park
No complaints.
Ms. Nadeau commented on Tradewinds Park, that the fence that was recently painted looks good.

Marge Schwanbeck- Dewey Park, Gus Carey Park & Sea Park
Not present.

JoAnne Nadeau- Douglas Park
No report.

Brooke Deratany Goldfarb- Orlando Park
No complaints.

Bernie Gott- Sunrise Park & Sunset Park
Sunrise Park- Vehicles parking in the no parking area. Maybe the sign needs to be reworded “no motorized vehicles”. Mr. Cassedy advised that he’s reinforced to the Parking Enforcement Employees to visit the park and enforce the parking issues.

Andrea McKoy- Zeppuhar- Riverside Park
Not present.

Larry Michelson- Wavecrest Extension Park, Wavecrest Park & Indialantic Ocean Beach
No complaints.

Lily Park, Garden Club By The Sea- Ms. Deratany Goldfarb requested on behalf of the Club, for a plan of the irrigation lines in the park. Mr. Cassedy will provide the plans at the next scheduled meeting. This topic is tabled until the next scheduled meeting.

VI. Recreation
Tree Lighting, Thursday, December 03, 2009, 7:00 p.m.
The event went well. Winn- Dixie donated cookies; Starbucks Coffee provided the Committee half off the price of the items of coffee and hot chocolate. Ms. Schwanbeck purchased candy canes for the children. Neon necklaces were purchased for the chorus members. Publix donated a fifty-dollar gift card for the event. For this year’s event, the Committee will explore different ideas for a beverage for the event.

Easter Egg Hunt, Saturday, March 27, 2010, 9:00 a.m.
Age ranges 0-2 Ms. Berkman, 3-4 Ms. Nadeau, 5-6 Ms. Deratany Goldfarb, 7-8 Mr. Michelson. Ms. Schwanbeck will contact the bunny, chicken and possibly a clown. Mr. Gott will assist the characters if needed the day of the event. The remaining event planning is tabled for February 22, 2010 meeting.

Family Movie Night at Town Hall
Tabled for January 25, 2010 meeting. Ms. Berkman is waiting for Eastminister Presbyterian Church to return a call to her. The Committee is looking at late April or early May 2010.

VII. Other
Memorial Bench for Betty Preece
Committee members accepted the suggestion from Mr. Cassedy that a park bench, with a memorial plaque “In Memory of Betty Preece” and accessible handicapped access be purchased for Nance Park in the amount of $433.67 from account 572-4900.

Mr. Michelson moved to approve the funding. Ms. Deratany Goldfarb seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

A ribbon cutting will take place at 8:45 a.m. the day of a scheduled future meeting.

VIII. Items for next Meeting – February 22, 2010 (10-04)
A. Lily Park, Garden Club By The Sea, Susan Hall
B. Easter Egg Hunt, Saturday, March 27, 2010, 9:00 a.m.
C. Family Movie Night at Town Hall
D. Memorial Bench for Betty Preece

IX. Adjournment
The meeting was adjourned at 9:55 a.m.

____________________________________ ______________________________________
Catherine Berkman, Chairperson Victoria M. Twitty-Mercer, Secretary